Rodgers Ranch Heritage Center
315 Cortsen Rd, Pleasant Hill, CA 94523, United States
Rodgers Ranch Heritage Center
(Formally Friends Of Rodgers Ranch)
Their Mission: The Rodgers Ranch Historic Site should be protected, restored, and preserved as a living history museum, providing education on its historical significance and the value of green, sustainable living.
In 1986, F.O.R.R. was founded as a non-profit organization to raise money for the renovation, preservation, and conservation of a Pleasant Hill Recreation and Park District property, the Rodgers Ranch Historic Site. The 1867 buildings were listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1991 and represent the last remains of the wheat-growing history in California and the oldest structures in Pleasant Hill.
F.O.R.R. became the Rodgers Ranch Heritage Center (R.R.H.C.) officially in 2014, thus expanding their community outreach and effects. Along with the forthcoming construction of a memorial devoted to the Rodgers, storyboards, and new site signage, they continue to make great strides towards restoring their Wheat Home. They have also extended their offerings of eco, sustainable living classes, and workshops.
It was 1868 that Patrick and Mary Ann Rodgers moved to the 149-acre ranch in Contra Costa County with their children from California's goldfields. They grew wheat and other crops there were involved in community affairs, supported their church, and encouraged public education. In 1891, Patrick Rodgers died. Sixteen years later, Alice and James Rodgers received the 38-acre portion containing the house and barn, all of which were built in the 1860s, when the land was divided among the heirs.
The ranch was sold to Rollo Hough, a partner in the Luther Burbank Company, in 1915, to become a demonstration farm, but it never happened because of financial difficulties. The property was reduced to 18 acres a few years later, and that size remained until the area was created.
The property was acquired by Alice and Earle Hobart in 1937. Alice Hobart, a noted author, is best known for her novel, "Oil for the Lamps of China." She wrote a book about the California wine industry during prohibition while living at the ranch, "The Cup and the Sword," The novel was turned into the film 'This Earth is Mine' in 1959, starring Rock Hudson.
The ranch was sold to Dr. and Mrs. Kaho Daily in 1942, who kept it until 1978 as a working ranch. In 1987, a development was approved for single-family homes. It was at this time that members of the Historical Society of Pleasant Hill proposed preserving the buildings and creating a heritage park.
This hidden gem in Concord, California is located near some other must-see places of interest:
- The Galindo Home
- Markham Nature Park & Arboretum
- Don Fernando Pacheco Adobe
- Historical Eichler Homes of Concord
- Salvio Pacheco Square
- Port Chicago Naval Magazine National Memorial
- John Muir National Historic Site
- De Martini Winery
All of these wonderful - but not so well known - attractions are located just a short distance from our location at 1261 Locust Street in Walnut Creek, California! Stop by for a visit anytime!